Lagos finally Bans ‘Okada,’ ‘Keke’ From Major Roads, Highways, Bridges


The Lagos State government has placed a ban on motorcycles and tricycles popularly known as ‘okada’ and ‘keke,’ in various local government areas of the state.


In the restriction order sent to media outlets on Monday, the government asked motorcycle and tricycle operators to refrain from operating on major roads in Lagos.

The order, captioned “Lagos Govt Has Banned Okada and Keke Marwa From Plying The Roads … Be Warned’. The State government has recently installed road signs across the places where Okada and Marwa are forbidden from plying.

Also listed below are the highways and bridges where motorcycles and tricycles movement were restricted-

Lagos Ibadan Expressway
Apapa Oshodi Expressway
Oworoshoki Oshodi Expressway
Lagos Ikorodu Expressway
Lagos Abeokuta Expressway
Babangida Bouleverde
Eti-Osa Lekki Epe Expressway
Lagos Badagry Express
Funsho Williams Avenue
Agege motor Road
Eti-Osa Lekki Coastal Road

Iyana-Ipaja Bridge, Agege/Alimosho Local Government
Dopemu Bridge, Agege/Alimosho Local Government
Airport/Ikeja Bridge, Ikeja Local Government
Agege Motor Road/Oshodi Loop, Oshodi, Ikeja/Mushin Local Government
Mushin/Isolo Link Bridge, Mushin Oshodi Local Government
Dorman Long Bridge Surulere/Lagos Mainland Local Government
Ojuelegba Bridge, Surulere/Lagos Mainland Local Government
National Stadium Flyover, Surulere Local Government
Iganmu/Funsho Williams Bridge Surulere Local Government
Apapa – Iganmu Bridge Surulere Local Government
Apapa – Ijora Link Bridge, Apapa/Lagos Mainland Local Government
Liverpool Bridge, Apapa, Apapa Local Government
Mile 2 Bridge Loop, Amuwo-Odofin, Amuwo-Odofin Local Government
Okota (Cele)/Ijesha Link Bridge Mushin/Oshodi-Isolo Local Government
Apakun/Apapa-Oshodi Bridge Network, Mushin/Oshodi/Isolo Local Government
Ikorodu Road/Anthony Cloverleaf Bridge Somolu/Ikeja Local Government
Trade Fair Flyover Bridge, Ojo Local Government
Festac/Amuwo-Odofin Link Bridge Amuwo Odofin Local Government
2 Flyover bridges along Alhaji Masha Rd, Surulere Local Government
Ojota Clover Leaf Bridge, Kosofe/Ikeja Local Government
Ogudu Bridge Kosofe Local Government
3rd Mainland Bridge Lagos Island/Mainland/Somolu Local Government
Maryland flyover Ikeja/Somolu Local Government
Ikeja/General Hospital flyover Bridge Ikeja Local Government
Kodesho Bridge, Oba Akran, Ikeja, Ikeja Local Government
Opebi Link Bridge, Ikeja Local Government
Sheraton-Opebi Bridge, Ikeja Local Government
Jibowu/Yaba flyover Bridge, Lagos Mainland Local Government
Carter Bridge Lagos, Lagos Mainland Local Government
Bariga-Ifako Bridge Somolu/Kosofe Local Government
Apapa – OShodi Expressway/Alapere Bridge Somolu/Kosofe Local Government
Bariga/Oworonshoki Bridge Somolu/Kosofe Local Government
Apapa – Oshodi Expressway/3rd Mainland Bridge Somolu/Kosofe Local Government
Apapa – Oshodi Expressway/3rd mainland Bridge Somolu/Kosofe Local Government
3rd mainland/Oworonshoki Bridge Kosofe Local Government
Eko Bridge Lagos Island/Lagos Mainland Local Government
Apongbon flyover, Bridge Lagos Island Local Government
Cowry Bridge (Officers Mess) Lagos Island/Eti-Osa Local Government.
McWen Bridge (Bonny camp) Eti-Osa Local Government.
Marina/Ikoyi Bridge Lagos Island/Eti-Osa Local Government.
Ikoyi/Obalende Bridge Eti-Osa Local Government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here