Kigigha Bomo, Braveman Wodi others wins November Bayelsa Chess Championship


Winners have emerged from the November edition of the Bayelsa State Chess Association Championship. The event had a total of 73 participants slugged it out at the Sampson Siasia stadium in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa State capital.


At the open event, players were categorized separately based on their ratings and the categories are Junior under 20 boys and girls; Opens; Female; Elite and Veteran.

At the end of 9rounds of energetic play, winners emerged from 4 categories according to how they fared. The winners in the respective categories are Junior under-20; 1st position was won by Tennyson Olisa-7points (Delta); while the 2nd position and 3rd position went to Eyetongha Callistus points (Delta) and Kere Alagoa 6points (Bayelsa state) respectively.

In the Opens category; the1st position is Bibowei Lambert 6.5points (Bayelsa) while the 2nd position went to Miedo Denenu 6.5 points and Christopher Cole came third with 6 points.

In the Female category, the 1st position is Perpetual Ogbiyoyo points (Oyo) while the 2nd position and 3rd position goes to Rachael Dappa 5points (Bayelsa) and Deborah Quickpen(8years old) 4.5points(Bayelsa) respectively.

In the Elite category, the 1st position went to Kigigha Bomo 8.5points (Bayelsa); while the 2nd position and 3rd position was won by Emmanuel Nwala 7points (Rivers) and Abimbola Osunfuyi 7points (Oyo) respectively.

The veterans category had a separate event with differing time control and number of round. After a 4 rounds, round-robin with 3mins blitz showdown, winners that emerged are 1st position won by Sir Braveman Wodi; the 2nd and 3rd position went to Mr Tarila Dudiefa and Engr Austin E respectively.

The closing ceremony was well attended by chess-lovers, parents of our juniors and important personalities such as the permanent secretaries of the Ministry Youth and Sports Chief Patimidi Tukuru and Mrs Ruth Ouserigha Etebo. Also the director of sports, Bayelsa state sports council, Sir, Braveman Wodi.

The organizers appreciate some of their esteemed sponsors and partners; which include Danhypro services limited(partner); Miebi Dudiefa (major sponsor and patron); Engr Emmanuel Opigo (sponsor and patron); Sir Braveman Wodi (Diretor of sports and Patron) and Hon. Daniel Igali (Commissioner of Youth and Sports). Others are Chief Patimidi Tukuru (permanent Secretary, Minstry Of Youth and Sports); Mrs Ruth Ouserigha Etebo (permanent Secretary, Ministry of Youth and Sport -youth)

A warm appreciation to the technical team of the BYSCA
Kigigha Bomo, Dickson Dudiefa, Obele koko, Cynthia Maxwell, Douye Asingbi, Miedo Denenu, Sunny Eyenghe, and Daboye Benibo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here